Seasons of Life


Paul nearing the end of his letter to the Thessalonians who were clearly near to his heart. The Thessalonians didn’t need to receive any written notice about the end because they were aware that Christ will come as a thief in the night. Not only will he come surprisingly, but people will be claiming peace and security yet destruction and pains as of a woman in labor will come with nobody able to escape. I’m glad to be loved by a sovereign God who certainly has a plan for the end. There is a difference between those who know Jesus and those who don’t. So significant is the difference that Paul says it’s like walking in day/light or walking in the night/darkness. Those in darkness are chanting peace and sleeping assuming everything is okay, but as a follower of Christ I must stay awake and be sober for the Lord returns soon. So as I walk in the light I should have my appropriate gear on for protection. The breastplate of faith and love firmly attached to my chest, while the helmet of my salvation should rest securely on my head. God has not destined those who walk in light for wrath; rather they are to obtain salvation through Christ who died on my behalf so that I may live with Him. Let’s encourage and build each other up. I do find it interesting that Paul calls it the breastplate of righteousness in his Ephesians letter while calling a breastplate of faith and love in his letter to the Thessalonians.

Leave a Reply

