Resolved 1


It is a time of year where individuals have made, are making, or will make resolutions for the coming year. I was encouraged as a teenager, by the late Dr. Wayne Fulton, to read The Life and Diary of David Brainerd, which was edited by none other than the monumental Christian and American leader Jonathan Edwards. At the beginning of the book Phillip E. Howard, Jr. offered a brief biographical sketch of Jonathan Edwards that is etched in my mind. Interestingly as a young man Edwards drew up seventy resolutions that I thought worth reviewing and contemplating this year. Edwards wrote, “Being sensible that I am unable to do anything without God’s help, I do humbly entreat Him by His grace, to enable me to keep these resolutions, so far as they are agreeable to His will, for Christ’s sake.” Thus I begin with his first resolution....

  1. Resolved, That I will do whatsoever I think to be most to the glory of God and my own good, profit, and pleasure, in the whole of my duration, without any consideration of the time, whether now, or never so many myriads of ages hence. Resolved, to do whatever I think to be my duty, and most for the good of mankind in general. Resolved so to do, whatever difficulties I meet with, how many soever, and how great soever.

Hmm – Regardless of time I will do the most for God’s glory. In doing that which will give God the most glory it will bless His creation, particularly humanity. In the pursuit I expect unlimited obstacles, but I will glorify God.

One thought on “Resolved 1

  1. Pingback: Resolved 2 | TRAILS From The HEART

Leave a Reply

