Resolved 3


As a young man Jonathan Edwards gave himself 70 resolutions to read weekly and pursue relentlessly. This 13th year of the 2nd millennium I have decided to reread and meditate upon his words, which so intrigued me as a teenager.

3 Resolved – If every I shall fall and grow dull, so as to neglect to keep any part of these resolutions, to repent of all I can remember, when I come to myself again.

Hmm – With my mind confined to human time I have a proclivity to forget either from the rigors of a busy schedule, sickness, distractions, etc…. One must be drawn back to the glory of God. When one returns to the anchor of their soul, God’s glory, than contribution to his creation will multiply for others good per resolution one.

Perusing Chronicles this morning and noticed the personnel ratios given to care for the new temple that David’s son, Solomon, would build.

  • 38,000 total
  • 24,000 work in the house of the Lord (63% of population work)
  • 6,000 officers & judges (15.7% of population are leaders)
  • 4,000 gatekeepers (10.5% of population)
  • 4,000 choir (10.5% of population)
Leave a Reply

